Self Review. Self Review. Self Review.

I could’ve stressed more.

Peer review is nice, but self-review is awesome.

No one is more intimate with your code than you.

Keep revisiting your code after some duration, say 2-3 weeks. It’s important to give yourself some time before jumping into another session of self-review. That isolation gives you time to bring a fresh perspective but with the same intimacy.

The best case scenario is when you have the luxury of writing new code way before the release deadline. Because then you have the time to improve the code for the first release itself. But, still it’s better than not doing it at all… something’s better than nothing… better late than never.

Quite a few times it happens that I revisit my code and ask myself “Did I do that? (in third person – ) Today’s Manish would not do that. Because he knows a better way now”.

Oh BTW, each time you improve your code and stare at the beauty of the code…that feeling is awesome.

Leave a comment